Florall Awards Autumn 2021

The more flexible Covid measures made it possible to organise a physical autumn edition of Florall.

Once again, a professional jury awarded potentially interesting innovations. After an intensive deliberation phase during which various aspects of the candidates were taken into account, the jury made the decision to award Gold to Callicarpa bodinieri ‘Magical Snowqueen’. Cortaderia ‘Tiny pampa’ got a silver medal and Echinacea ‘SunSeekers Apple green’ received bronze.

Gold

Callicarpa bodinieri ‘Magical snowqueen’ - WILLY DE NOLF

This plant is especially suitable for borders. The jury emphasized the good growth, healthy leaves and the ability to branch easily as positive points. Although the flowering is not very spectacular, because the flowers are hidden between the leaves, the plant does offer a beautiful autumn colour. The great ornamental value is manifested after the leaves fall.

The berries continue to decorate the garden throughout the winter. Birds don’t like them, because they taste bitter. New to the Magical Snowqueen is that the berries are completely white, whereas most C. bodinieri's have purple berries. This also gives them opportunities for interior decoration and even to use some winter twigs in the own flower arrangements.

Silver

Cortaderia ‘Tiny Pampa’ - PLANTEN STEVENS VOF

This Cortaderia can be used as a houseplant but she also works well in the garden: from the terrace to the border. It has a very good shrubbery but remains very compact, and is also perfectly hardy. This plant is awarded for the new presentation: Planten Stevens now offers them in a large pot, so that the plant shows more its potential in the trade channels.

The jury was charmed by the decorative foliage and the flowers, which is very attractive even when they are not yet opened. The plant has potential for indoor decoration, but also for the terrace and certainly in the garden. It grows beautifully in clumps, is easy to maintain and can withstand drought.

Bronze

Echinacea ‘SunSeekers Apple green’ - DSplant

The SunSeekers group distinguishes itself with a compact habit for Echinacea and with strong thick stems that branch profusely. They have semi-double flowers, where Echinacea usually has only one layer of petals. For example, the green flower somewhat resembles a gerbera. It lends itself well to home use as a cut flower in mixed bouquets. ‘SunSeekers Appele Green’ flowers from July to October. Also noteworthy is the hardiness, which is often a weak point with Echinacea.

The jury was charmed by the beautiful white-green colour, which is somewhat reminiscent of chicory leaves that received a little too much light. The flower bud is already attractive when it has not yet opened. It is a valuable Echinacea, which certainly enriches the range. It can be used on the balcony, the terrace or in the garden and as a cut flower. The sturdy stems and stocky growth are an added value.

Florall Awards Spring 2021

Despite there being no physical fair, the FLORALL awards were organized. Growers and traders had the opportunity to submit novelties and, as with a physical fair, a jury chose the winners.

After an intensive deliberation phase, during which various aspects of the candidates were taken into account and weighed, the jury made the decision to award Gold for Betterbuxus®. Agapanthus 'Poppin Purple’ that was awarded a silver medal also received its first public award. The spectacular colours convinced the jury to award Bronze to Leucothoe 'Rant01' (Firestar).

Gold

BetterBuxus® - Herplant

Buxus hybrids resistant to boxblight

Betterbuxus hybrids are resistant boxwood varieties against Calonectria on Buxus that were developed together with ILVO by breeding. They also show a higher tolerance to boxblight, according to recent research.

Motivation of the jury:
The jury focuses on the innovating aspect of this plant and thinks that the name Betterbuxus® should help to oppose to the idea according to which Buxus is a difficult plant. Provided that a bit attention is paid to the boxwood tree moth, the resistance against the fungal diseases will put the plants into the position to grow undisturbed during summer.
And this will result in ad added value.
Another aspect appealing to the jury concerned diversity. These plants thrive as a patio plant both in pots and in the garden.

The slightly looser growth habit does not have to represent a disadvantage, since it gives a certain touch of modernity. Furthermore, these plants can be used as soil cover and for pruning. In winter, the plant provides green shades.

This hybrid offers the potential to get international success, even beyond the Flemish market. In this manner, both Flemish research, focussing on horticulture, and the branch itself will have the chance to reach more global attention.

Silver

Agapanthus 'Poppin Purple' - Agapanthuskwekerij

Agapanthus 'Poppin Purple' has fantastic purple flowers and a high flower production. 'Poppin Purple' has a long flowering period with good re-flowering so that you can enjoy the intense purple flowers for a long time.

This Agapanthus grows faster than other varieties and becomes approx. 60 cm high and 45 cm wide.
Place 'Poppin Purple' in (full) sun in a well-drained soil.
It is a great plant for the perennial border, in a pot on the patio or balcony or in mixed containers.
Hardy to approx. -12 ºC.

In short: The FIRST deep purple perpetual flowering Agapanthus on the market.

Motivation of the jury:
This colourful plant can address a wide audience. This plant brings colour to the garden and flowers over a long period of time. The ‘Poppin Purple’ plant does not grow too tall. And it is exactly this aspect permitting to plant it both on borders and in a pot.

There are still purple varieties. However, the jury believes that the 'Poppin Purple' will stand out with its colour.

The Agapanthus is a popular long-flowering plant that can profit from other flowers bringing colours to the garden.
The Agapanthus plant attracts butterflies and it also bee-friendly.

Agapanthus 'Poppin Purple' also won the public award

Bronze

Leucothoe ‘RANT01’ (FIRESTAR) - Van Vliet New Plants BV

“RANT01” has a very compact and dense growth habit. The leaves are bright green and broad white edges appear in the summer. In the autumn, young shoots turn a deep purple/red. They remain like this all winter. The variegation is stable and the plant produces no shoots with green leaves. The plant is also insensitive to leafspot.

https://grootgroenplus.nl/uploads/2020/nieuwigheden/Leucothoe-RANT01-FI…

Motivation of the jury:
The jury finds that the spectacular colours red, green, and colourful are innovating in comparison with the colours of the other Leucothoe. The different colours result in ad added value in various seasons, and even in winter. This plant grows slowly. This is the reason why it requires little maintenance.

It is a variety adapting to these weird times. At the moment, what we need is freedom, creativity and playfulness. And this plant can bring all this to our terrace.
This plant has the potential to make us happy.

Florall Awards Automne 2021

Grace aux mesures Covid plus flexibles l'édition physique de Florall du 24 août a pu avoir lieu.

Un jury professionnel a récompensé les nouveautés potentiellement intéressantes. Après une délibération intense, au cours de laquelle plusieurs aspects des produits nommés ont été examinés, le jury a décidé d’attribuer l’or à Callicarpi bodinieri ‘Magical Snowqueen’; l’argent à Cortaderia ‘Tiny Pampa’ et le bronze à Echinacea ‘SunSeekers Apple Green’.

l'Or

Callicarpa bodinieri ‘Magical snowqueen’ - WILLY DE NOLF

A cause de sa taille finale ‘Magical Snowqueen’ est idéale en bordure.
Le jury était impressionné par la bonne croissance, le feuillage sain et la capacité de se ramifier facilement. Car les fleurs sont cachées entre les feuilles, la floraison n’est pas très spectaculaire, mais la plante a une belle couleur d’automne.

La grande valeur ornementale se manifeste après la chute des feuilles. Les baies décorent le jardin tout l’hiver. Les oiseaux ne les aiment pas parce qu’ils sont très amers. Les baies de ‘Magical Snowqueen’, sont complètement blanches, alors que la plupart des Callicarpa bodinieri ont des baies violettes. ‘Magical Snowqueen’ avec ces baies blanches est parfaite pour la décoration d’intérieur et les brindilles d’hiver sont idéales pour les compositions florales.

l'Argent

Cortaderia ‘Tiny Pampa’ - PLANTEN STEVENS VOF

Cortaderia ‘Tiny Pampa’ peut être utilisé comme plante d’intérieur, ainsi qu’au jardin : de la terrasse à la bordure. Bien que ‘Tiny Pampa’ forme un bel arbuste, la plante reste très compacte. Elle est également parfaitement rustique. La présentation en particulier est innovante: Planten Stevens offre la plante dans un grand pot, afin qu’elle puisse mieux s’épanouir dans les circuits commerciaux.

Le jury était charmé par le feuillage décoratif et l’inflorescence qui est très attrayante même lorsqu’elle n’est pas ouverte. ‘Tiny Pampa’ peut être utilisé pour la décoration d’intérieur, mais aussi sur la terrasse et dans le jardin. La plante pousse magnifiquement en touffes, est facile à entretenir et peut très bien résister à la sécheresse.

le Bronze

Echinacea ‘SunSeekers Apple green’ - DSplant

Le groupe ‘SunSeekers’ a un port compact avec des tiges fortes et épaisses qui se ramifient abondamment. Ils ont une double couche de pétales, alors que l’Echinacea n’a généralement qu’une seule couche. Cela fait que la fleur verte ressemble un peu à un gerbera. La fleur se porte bien comme fleur coupée en bouquets mélangés. Elle fleurit de juillet à octobre. Le groupe ‘SunSeekers’ est également rustique, ce qui est remarquable car c’est souvent un point faible chez les autres variétés d’Echinacea.

Le jury était charmé par la belle couleur blanc-vert qui rappelle un peu les feuilles de chicorée qui ont reçu un peu trop de lumière. Même lorsqu’il n’est pas encore ouvert, le bouton floral est déjà attrayant. C’est une Echinacea précieuse qui enrichit certainement la gamme et est idéale pour décorer la terrasse ou dans le jardin. Les tiges robustes et la croissance trapue sont des points positifs.

Florall Awards Printemps 2021

Le salon physique n’a pas lieu, mais les prix « FLORALL awards » étaient organisés. Les producteurs et les commerçants ont la possibilité d’envoyer leurs nouveautés et, comme pour un salon physique, un jury les examine et choisis les gagnants. 

Un jury professionnel a, cette année également, récompensé avec un award les nouveautés potentiellement intéressantes.

Après une délibération intense, au cours de laquelle plusieurs aspects des produits nommés ont été examinés, le jury a décidé d’attribuer l’or à Betterbuxus. Agapanthus « Poppin Purple », qui a été récompensé avec le prix en argent a également fait l’unanimité auprès du public, ce qui lui a valu le premier prix du public. Le jury n’a pas pu résister aux couleurs spectaculaires de Leucothoe « Rant01 » (Firestar) et lui a attribué le prix de bronze.

 

l'Or

BetterBuxus® - Herplant

Variétés de Buxus résistantes aux maladies fongiques.

Les hybrides Betterbuxus sont des variétés de buis résistantes contre Calonectria sur Buxus qui ont été développées avec ILVO par sélection. Ils montrent également une tolérance plus élevée à la pyrale du buis, selon des recherches récentes.

la motivation du jury:
Ces nouvelles variétés résistantes aux maladies fongiques permettent de lutter contre le plus grand problème du buis. Elles sont le résultat de dix années de travail de sélection menées par ILVO et PCS, au cours desquelles la résistance naturelle des variétés sauvages a été introduite à partir de semis.

Le jury a mis l’aspect innovant de cette plante au premier plan et a estimé que le nom Betterbuxus® devrait contribuer à dissiper l’idée que le buis est une plante difficile. Grâce à sa résistance aux maladies fongiques, cette plante peut pousser – à condition de rester attentif à la pyrale du buis - sans problème en été, ce qui constitue une valeur ajoutée.

Cette polyvalence séduit également le jury. Les plantes s’utilisent comme plantes pour terrasses en pot ou en terre. Leur croissance un peu plus désordonnée n’est pas nécessairement un inconvénient, car elle leur donne un aspect moderne. Ces plantes peuvent également être utilisées comme couvre-sol et pour une taille en topiaire. En hiver, elles apportent une touche de verdure.

Cette plante hybride a le potentiel de faire bonne figure à l’échelle internationale, et pas seulement sur le marché flamand. Sur la scène internationale, elle peut contribuer à mettre en évidence la recherche flamande sur les plantes ornementales et le secteur lui-même.

l'Argent

Agapanthus 'Poppin Purple' - Agapanthuskwekerij

Agapanthus 'Poppin Purple' a des fleurs violettes fantastiques et une production florale élevée.
'Poppin Purple' a une longue période de floraison avec une bonne re-floraison pour que vous puissiez profiter longtemps des fleurs violettes intenses.
Cet Agapanthe pousse plus vite que les autres variétés et atteint environ 60 cm de hauteur et 45 cm de largeur.
Placez 'Poppin Purple' en (plein) soleil dans un sol bien drainé

C'est une excellente plante pour la bordure vivace, en pot sur le patio ou le balcon ou dans des contenants mixtes.
Rustique jusqu'à environ -12 ºC.
En bref: les PREMIERS Agapanthes à floraison perpétuelle pourpre profond du marché.

la motivation du jury:
Cette plante colorée peut plaire à un large public. Elle apporte de la couleur au jardin et fleurit sur une longue période. La « Poppin Purple » ne pousse pas trop haut, ce qui la rend intéressante pour une utilisation dans des plates-bandes ou des pots.

Il existe d’autres sortes de pourpre, mais le jury a estimé que la « Poppin Purple » ne manquera pas de se faire remarquer avec ses couleurs. L’agapanthe est une plante populaire à floraison perpétuelle, qui associée à d’autres plantes, apporte de la couleur au jardin.
L’agapanthe attire les papillons et est appréciée par les abeilles.

L’agapanthe 'Poppin Purple' gagne aussi le prix du public

le Bronze

Leucothoe ‘RANT01’ (FIRESTAR) - Van Vliet New Plants BV

“RANT01” a un port bien compact et dense. Les feuilles sont d’un vert foncé frais avec de larges bordures blanches en été. En automne, les jeunes pousses virent au rouge pourpre intense. Elles gardent cette caractéristique tout l’hiver. La plante est stable et ne forme pas de rameaux à feuilles vertes. La plante n’est pas non plus très sensible aux taches foliaires.

https://grootgroenplus.nl/uploads/2020/nieuwigheden/Leucothoe-RANT01-FI…

La motivation du jury:
Le jury estime que le mélange de couleurs spectaculaires rouge et vert distingue cette plante des autres leucothoes. Cette diversité de couleurs selon les saisons, et aussi pendant l’hiver, sont une valeur ajoutée.
C’est une plante qui pousse lentement et qui nécessite donc peu d’entretien.

C’est une variété qui s’adapte bien à la situation particulière que nous vivons actuellement. En ce moment, nous avons besoin de liberté, de créativité et d’enjouement, que cette plante peut apporter pour la terrasse. Elle a le potentiel de nous rendre heureux.